My prayer for my son

It took me a year to write this but know that I have been praying for you before you ever came to this world. In fact, before you were even conceived or conceived of being conceived. I have loved you way before I knew you. I loved imagining giving  you a hug, kisses and cuddles.  I am grateful that God has entrusted you to me. That He has chosen me to be your mom. I may be clueless most of the time, but God is never wrong. I was chosen for you. You were chosen for me. Your dad and I could have chosen to marry anyone, but we chose each other and that is a gift from God. But you, my love. God chose you-hand picked you just for us. I thank God for you. I thank the Lord because you are alive and healthy and thriving. I thank the Lord that He has opened my womb. That He has given us a safe delivery. That you are with us everyday to make us smile and feel silly and to be kids (with a kid) all over again.

I pray for you. I pray that God would grant you wisdom and discernment. That you would be filled of His knowledge. That you would know Him and have your mind be filled with thoughts of heaven and of the Lord. I pray that He would grant you wisdom as you go through everyday, choosing, deciding, doing anything and everything that would give the Lord glory. I pray that you would discern which is of God and which is of the world. I pray that God would grant you enough wisdom and discernment to go through life choosing Him every single time. I pray that you would use your wisdom to study well and do great things to help others. Do not outsmart people, but rather, help them when in need.

I pray for your eyes. I pray that would give you eyes that would see His beauty and glory in everything. I pray that your eyes would always look for the rainbow despite the rain. That you would look for the stars beyond the darkness of the night. That You would look up on Jesus. That God will be your guide. I pray that the Lord would protect your eyes against the enemy’s use. That even if you see the world as it is, I pray that everything you see will be for His glory.

I pray for your ears, little one. I pray that our Father would protect your ears from gossip and evil and malice. I pray that the Lord would rebuke the enemy when he whispers to you. I pray that you will always hear the voice of truth, leading you the way you should go. I pray that you would listen to the Lord wherever He guides you. I pray that you would be quick to listen and slow to anger. I pray that you would not be deaf to others’ cry for help. Use your God-given abilities to do what is right and what is good.

I pray for your beautiful lips, your gentle mouth. I pray that you would use your mouth to glorify the Lord in everything that comes from your mouth. Be gentle with your words, be courteous and polite. Be generous with praise and kindness. I pray that you would use your mouth to sing the Lord songs of praise. Use your mouth to share the Gospel to as many people possible. I pray that you would be granted wisdom and self-control to speak the right words and shut your mouth when silence is needed. I pray that the Lord will keep your mouth from slander and gossip and malice.

I pray for your beautiful nose. Do not raise it in the air to brag. The air that you breathe is not yours. We do not have any right to brag. The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it. Raise your head to appreciate and be grateful but never to brag.

I pray for your heart. I pray that the Lord would give you an honest, obedient and humble and generous heart. I pray that pride would not have any place in your heart. I pray that you would desire God and Jesus alone and that your heart would be satisfied with their great and mighty love. I pray that you would grow up to be a man after God’s heart. Fill your heart with love and mercy and compassion.

I pray for that the Lord would always bless the work of your hands. I pray that your hands will always find something useful and worthwhile to do. I pray that you would use your hand to show kindness, compassion, justice and mercy. I pray that you would always lend others a helping hand. Do not be idle. I pray that you would use your hands to pray and praise the Lord.

I pray for you legs and feet. That the Lord will strengthen your legs and feet. May you stand whenever you stumble. Never give up. I pray that you would never stray to the left or right but continue on the Lord’s path of righteousness. I pray that the Lord will help you stand firm til the end.

I pray that you would be highly favored by the Lord and you would serve Him all the days of His life because we have offered you to Him. May you let the Lord use you to glorify His Name. I pray that our Father in heaven will keep you healthy and provide you with everything you need to survive in this cruel world. I pray that you would always remember that our home is not here but in heaven where we will spend all eternity. All these, I ask and pray for you dear son.

I pray that God would help us become the parents He wants us to be. I pray that He would grant us wisdom and discernment in raising you to be a child after His own heart. I pray for perseverance and strength when things get too tough? I pray for more and more patience and understanding. I pray that the Lord will draw us,family, closer to Him. I pray that we would honor Jesus and be good role models for you. I pray that we would serve the Lord as a family, not just every Sunday but everyday in all the little things and in everything. I pray that we would learn to stand despite having to fall at times and learn to rely on Christ for happiness. I pray that we would be able to stand firm til the end. I ask for peace and happiness until Our Father calls us home. May we do our job well here and remain faithful in everything. This is my prayer. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

